The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Baby Sweater on Two Needles for Lillian

Leave a comment

When Rachel announced she and Tyler were expecting a girl, I was giddy.  Scads of lacy, wee-little girl patterns I have squirreled away for such occasions.

Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Baby Sweater on Two Needles is one of them. It can be found in the Knitters Almanac 2010 through Schoolhouse Press.

The pattern calls for  fingering weight yarn for a newborn size.  I trolled others’ projects on Ravelry and figured I could knit in worsted weight, using the same numbers, and obtain a 12-18 month size.

I loved making it.  Boy howdy, it’s a quickie.

Yarn:  Dream in color Classy (soft, machine washable, interesting color palette) in Blue Laggoon

Public Ravelry Link for More Detailed Project Modifications

 

 

I’ve been making baby sweaters with short sleeves.  I seem to think  it will be more versatile.  Wasn’t crazy about the lace at the underarm.  Felt a little bulky but I think once it’s on arms, it will smooth out.

 

The gull lace pattern is easy to memorize, rhythmic and so pretty.

I couldn’t find the right blue buttons so I went with yellow. Glad I chose them, they are cheery and bright.

 

Lily’s about half the size of this sweater. Someday I’ll share one of her in it.

 

I’ll be making many more of these in the future.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 318 other followers