The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Stumbling along the information highway?

4 Comments

AZ Open Road

Swerving, skidding along.  I can comfortable cruise the email/IPOD, ECommerce roads.  This is new…

Playing with this blog thing has consumed large amounts of time, more than I thought I could spend in front of the computer.   I must have spent 2 hours trying to get the header picture to look right, all the while thinking, “What am I going to type?”  Why am I putting myself through this?  Why when I’ve sworn off any kind of sit-in-front-of-the-computer profession?  (Although nursing computer documentation consumes far too much time away from patient care.)

I’m a people person.   I love a good phone conversation, or better yet a chat over coffee or a beer at the local watering hole, I can’t stay in touch with folks to my liking.  I can’t write the emails I’d like to.  Sniff…I miss you all.  I’m thinking this may be a vehicle for communication/ramblings/experiences of my little adventure.  This travel nursing thing is pretty cool.  I’m satisfying the wanderlust itch.  I’m learning tons about a new place, its culture, my work, myself.

Things I’ve learned about Albuquerque thus far (with a few things I want to learn thrown in):

  1. Spring starts way earlier here than in Denver.  (See Spring Sproinging pics)
  2. NM has more hiking/climbing/camping than I could do in a lifetime.  It’s real purdy.
  3. A YMCA membership is necessary to work off the sopapillas.
  4. Red or Green?  Both, on the side.
  5. The neighborhoods are a little mixed up  (not as neatly segregated as most cities I’ve been in).  There is crime, cultural clash, widespread poverty.  It’s a poor state.

Things I’m learning about my work:

  1. I’ll never stop learning new nursing skills.  I know more than I give myself credit for.
  2. Respect the fine vessel you were given, your body.  It’s a gift to be taken care of.  Many don’t.
  3. No matter how crappy the day is, find a reason to smile.
  4. I need to learn Spanish, not just for work but for me.
  5. People have something to teach you, even if subtle, if you are receptive.

Things I’m learning about me:

  1. I find myself slowing down without the usual daily patterns I’m used to.  This may be a good thing.
  2. I say “What the hell” and jump in with both feet.
  3. I’d like to do more of #2.
  4. Meeting new people is harder than I thought. Thank goodness I have housemates to help with this.
  5. I bite off more than I can chew and don’t have anywhere near enough time to cross off the to do list fully. (But would I really want to?  How horrible to reach the end and say, “Now what?”)

My goal is to keep this up to date.  I’ll post fun things.  Don’t give up on me if I miss some days!

More to come-  Heather

4 thoughts on “Stumbling along the information highway?

  1. wow, this really does work!?! Nice spring spronging shots. You got that right, Denver is WAY behind in spring.

  2. Nope, this does not quite work after all. Kurt wrote that last comment…

  3. hi heather, let yo papa be the first to acknowledge your fine blog. Nice pics, nice job.

  4. I’m getting flower envy….those look gorgeous!!!!

Leave a Reply

