The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

It’s a Mini Sock!

Leave a comment

I’ve been wanting to learn to knit socks toe-up instead of the usual way of starting at the top and working to the toe.

Why does it matter you may wonder?  (Or maybe not, humor me.)  Let’s say you have a ball of yarn.  You knit a sock. Then, you knit the second only to be a couple inches from the toe and @#%&!   There’s no yarn left to finish it.  No problem with this technique. Just wind off two equal weight balls, start at the toe, knit until you run out of yarn. Lather, rinse, and repeat with the second sock.

Why else?  Many say they can get the fit better.

The best reason, NO KITCHENER stitch to graft the toe stitches together!  That’s worth it hands down.  I can’t stand this finishing technique. No matter how many diagrams or U-Tube videos I watch on the kitchener stitch mine always looks wonky, dorky, awful.

Thus my excitement when LYS (Local Yarn Store) The Recycled Lamb offered a toe up class by no other than ANN BUDD.  This woman is a pattern designer guru.  She is the queen of sock construction. I got to knit a baby sock with her teaching. 

Wow.

After a full day of knitting, here it is.

 

IMG_5912_1 by you.

A wee little baby sock. Isn’t it adorable?  It’s pretty cool to understand the mechanics of the construction.

By the way, notice the new do?   Last week I had a good 2.5-3″ cut off. I am a liberated woman. I actually used the old use-the-sunglasses-as-a-styling-tool today as I left NO time for styling this AM. When I really do it, it’s fun and sassy, a bit longer in the front.  My curls go “sproing!”  Looks sleek when I straighten it.  I love it.  This pic, a suggestion, not a good representation.

A wee sock.  One cool class.

Leave a Reply

