The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

An Update – Friday June 4, 2010 – Warm Feet and Good News

Leave a comment

  • Signed a contract at a Santa Barbara hospital for 13 weeks beginning 6/14.  (Big Smile goes here.)  It’ll be nights. That’ll suck.  But I’ll deal with it.
  • Off to San Diego today. Planning to hit some LA tourist attractions on the way.  I’m gonna be brave and enter the beast. Planning to see: Getty Museum, Santa Monica, Original LA Farmers Market, Hollywood, Queen Mary Ship (?), Rancho Los Alamitos, Venice Beach, San Juan Capistrano Mission, and hopefully Catalina Island.  In San Diego, well, I haven’t firm plans yet.   My HIDDEN guidebook will help.  I have 5 or 6 days to play. I’m bringing my bike and a need for an adventure.  Oh, sailing. I’d love to have a sailboat ride.  Never been.
  • Got my laptop back from Sony setting a land-speed record of 7 days.  Hard drive was replaced.
  • On the needles:  1) Monkey by the Sea Socks.  Turned the heel and am onto the gusset of sock number one.  2) Nephew Lucca’s B-Day sweater.  No details since his mom reads this and I want it to be a  surprise.  It’s big. It will be his X-Mas gift as well.
  • Yarn stash-dove yesterday. Amping up to cast on a me-project after I finish the kid’s sweater.  Indecisive about what it will be.
  • Can’t take my felted clog slippers off when at home. In fact, I’d wear them full-time if I thought I could get away with it.  They are like a woobie. But on my feet.  Warm, soft, reassuring.

Ravelry it:  Fiber Trends Felted Clogs by Bev Galeskas

Needle:  Addi Turbo #13  Circular

Yarn:  Cascade 220 and 220 Heathers held double.   Stash Buster.  No new wool was purchased for the making of these clogs.   :  )  Used one full skein purple, close to one full skein for the double-layer soles and a half or so for the red parts you see.

Quick, easy, if you haven’t made a pair yet I recommend this pattern.  They make a great gift as well.

PS:  New Vogue Knitting Fall magazine is out.  Yummy projects in it.

Leave a Reply

