The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Surviving Scary LA – Part 1 0f ? – Getty Goodness

Leave a comment

Just to prove how far behind I am in sharing travel tales, this series of posts chronicle a trip through LA, down to San Diego and back.  I had lots on my list to see but a nasty cold cut San Diego short.  Boo. Never-the-less, it’s there for the return.

250 miles gets one from SB to SD.  I tried my hardest to time driving to miss traffic.  It worked.

Mapped below are all the stops I’ll share:  Getty Museum and the Original LA Farmers Market near Fairfax and Third, Hollywood, Venice Beach and some San Diego snippets.

The late gazillionaire oilman John Paul Getty left the bulk his estate in the J. Paul Getty Museum Trust.  There are two places to see: the Getty Center art museum in LA and the Getty Villa in Pacific Palisades (mostly devoted to education and art from Rome, Greece and Etruria.)  I had to look up Etruria, which is  a grouping on places in central Italy including Tuscany and Umbria.

The Getty Center had collections of Western art ranging from the Middle Ages to the present.  My faves were the Leonardo da Vinci drawing collection and the illuminated Old Testament manuscripts.

The art doesn’s stop indoors though.  The buildings are art themselves with clever viewpoints and lush gardened grounds.  Unusually clear that day, the views to the ocean/downtown LA/Santa Monica Mtns. were beautiful.

Those aren’t pink mushrooms!  Magenta Bougainvillea was trained up metal supports.

A dry cactus garden caught my eye.  It looks like the skyline, I think, in ways.

I hit some traffic heading to the Farmers Market.  From the Farmers Market I visited Hollywood.  Yah, it was touristy but I had to do it. Some things you just have to see.  More on that next time.



Leave a Reply

