The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Northern CA tour Part 4 0f ? – Eureka! The City seen from a boat.

Leave a comment

It was a big trip to northern CA.  There’s more I haven’t shared.  And it’s taking me forever to get my posts up.

I’ve been uber-occupied with work and Christmas knitting.  My needles are on fire, I’ll tell ya, but I can’t post pics until all are gifted.

++++++++++++++++++++EUREKA+++++++++++++++++++++++

An aerial view of Humboldt Bay/Eureka from a file on Wikipedia:

I saw just a wee bit of this city.  The center of activity for far Northern CA for 26,000-some people, Eureka’s fame includes a once massive lumber industry (now almost non-existent), gingerbread Victorian homes, a lively arts center in the “Old Town,”  fishing and oyster farming, earthquakes and several parks that celebrate the redwoods.  270 miles north of San Francisco, it is worlds away from central and southern CA.  I like how it feels, more “real,” more friendly.  Rugged coastlines, redwoods and hills of trees rolling eastward make it mighty purty.

Shared below are photos I took while being a good little tourist aboard the MADAKET, a little boat boasting the smallest licensed bar in CA inside and, notably, old.

Built in 1910, she is the oldest passenger carrying vessel, in continuous service, in the USA.  The captain gave a great tour of the bay and its sights sharing factual info and anecdotal thoughts on local culture, economy and history.  It was a neat way to see the city.

First, we veered away from the city and went north to see the oyster beds and, I think this was called Indian Island. Once taken away, Native Americans reclaimed this land and are in the process of restoring it.  I saw many beautiful herons out this way along with leftovers of docks, etc.

Color’s off but this is a look towards old town:

The working side of the bay:

This boat was from Asia somewhere.  It doesn’t show how the MADAKET was but a flea doggy-paddling past.

Some lumber still moves through but very little. Times are hard, here, per our tour guide:

Hundreds of boats call this home, some fancy, some old and rusty. The old and rusty are what interests me:

Colorful crates of goods:

Though it’s rainy season, I’d love to return up this way.  Perhaps a freakishly dry spell will occur and I can.

Next post, beautiful, isolated stretches of beach on the Lost Coast.

Leave a Reply

