The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Update – January 13, 2011 – Did somebody say, Alaska?

Leave a comment

 

It’s here.  I’m officially licensed to nurse in Alaska.

If all goes as planned I’ll be up there in March, working (hopefully multiple) travel RN contracts and getting to know the area intimately, courtesy of travel nursing.  Have I mentioned before how fortunate I am to be a travel RN?

I really can’t think about much else, now.  Except for knitting.  And reading a book on an Antarctic Explorer. And a couple AK guidebooks.  And a few other things.

Once it’s for sure I’ll let you know, likely by the end of next week.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

Somewhat orderly thoughts (given the source):

  • I’m wrapping up ALL holiday gift knitting today (Yah, I know it’s January 13th.)   Only 1.333  gifts to go.
  • Can’t share a thing until I make a trip to the post office.  Then, a deluge of pics.  I promise.
  • As a result, I feel a nasty case of startitis coming on.  ME projects are invading my thoughts constantly. Can’t…pick…one!
  • I love the new Malabrigo Rios.  Soft, superwash, positively yummmmm.
  • It’s pissing rain all day today.  I’m enjoying nursing the French Press of coffee, catching up on podcasts, knitting, and puttering around the pad.  Wishing for better light.  Perhaps I should don my headlamp?
  • I found and really like this podcast, FIBERBEAT.  Link’s also on the sidebar to your right.  Check him out!
  • Realizing a thick, washable, knitted French Press Cozy is just the ticket for keeping said coffee hot.  Thinking of trying my hand at pattern design, creating my own. I’m thinking cables and I-Cord.
  • Finished a great book, The Tie That Binds by Kent Haruf.  If you enjoy the remote-plains-ranching-life-is-tough genre of lit. (ala Annie Proulx, Laura Pritchett) give Haruf a whirl.
  • A friend’s visit to CA next week has me all excited.  :  )
  • Wrapped up with that visit are 6 add’l days off.  Thinking I should find some desert sun.  Won’t have anything like that in AK.
  • Meeting a friend in Berkeley tomorrow for supper and a trip to A Verb For Keeping Warm. It’s one  of those knitting shops I’ve kept in the back of mind filed under the Unique-Must-See section.  Seems they are full of not only their own line of naturally dyed fibers but many small makers as well such as The Sanguine Gryphon and local Bodega Pastures Yarn.  Can’t wait.

Ummm…that’s it for today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

