The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

“Poor-Man’s Cruise” into Alaska

Leave a comment

Holey-Schmoley I am in Alaska.

Haines, AK to be exact.

Last Friday I boarded the ferry in Bellingham, WA and headed north along the Inside Passage.  A friend calls this the “Poor Man’s Cruise.”   It’s reasonable when compared to actual tourist cruise costs. Still, not cheap. The beauty of the scenery made it worth every penny.

I’d insert a map here but the wi-fi I paid for is awful and I’m reconnecting constantly.  Nothing fancy tonight, folks. One to follow later.

After stops in several ports, including Ketchikan and Juneau, (other ports were overnight stops which I slept through) I drove off the ferry in Haines, AK at 5 PM today.  Tomorrow, I’ll drive over purportedly gorgeous Chillkat Pass (supposedly the hairiest section of the drive), pass through customs into British Columbia, then Yukon Territory, 146 miles to Haines Junction.  I hope to make it to Tok tomorrow night,  396 miles from Haines and half-way to Anchorage.

I’ve met some kind folks (many I met) who invited me into their caravan.

I’ve prepared my vehicle with winter driving and survival supplies.

I’ve got an IPOD loaded with music, The Girl Who Played with Fire and podcasts galore.

I’ve got instant Starbucks coffee packets. (Hey…their not ideal but better than gas-station coffee.)

And a healthy dose of pleasant butterflies.

Since I left my memory card with boat pics in the truck, and I’m all tucked into my PJ’s, I have none to insert here.  Will do so later.

Maybe the wi-fi will be better in Tok?  :  )

Leave a Reply

