The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Anchorage, AK – An Update

Leave a comment

A stream of thoughts about my new life in Anchorage, AK:

It’s really purdy up here.  The mountains are spectacular. Anchorage snugs up right against the base of the HUGE Chugach State Park, home to all those mountains in the background.

This is just a teeny slice shown below with the city in front.

  • The travel nursing job never came to be.  I interviewed last week for a job I really want.  It’s looking good.  I’ll keep you posted.
  • I moved somewhere else, 11 years ago, with no job lined up.  It’s scary but things have a way of working out.
  • It’s been blue-bird skies since I landed with temps from 5-35, most days in the mid-twenties.A lady in the grocery store remarked, “We’re having our false spring, dear.”  Many feet of snow could yet fall.   It’s light until 8 PM. (Noted this with the start of daylight-playing time.)
  • The sun, once setting, rests on the horizon for a long time before it completely disappears.  Sunsets, over the Inlet and mountains, are spectacular and lengthy.

Here’s one from the deck. It’s a poor shot of what it really looks like but you get the idea.

  • Yak-Trax (little wire traction thingys) on my boots rock.  I’d be a moving hazard without, needing an orange triangle on my back.
  • I will put studded tires on my truck next winter.
  • People are very friendly up here.
  • Bears are still hibernating. Once they wake up they will replace rattlesnakes in my outdoor-pursuits phobias.
  • I joined a knitting guild and a group that meets on Sundays.
  • Unemployment is really good for ones knitting endeavors.  I’m well into a cardigan, nearly finished with mittens and speeding through plain socks.  Too bad it’s not sustainable, eh?

Tonight I sorted through all 80-bazillion photos from the trip up. I’m tired.  Those are next to come. Promise. It was a trip of a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

