The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Christmas 2012 Knitting – Keepin’ It Real

Leave a comment

When it comes to Christmas knitting, each year I dream of hand knit socks for everyone, etc.  Reality usally knocks me silly around the end of October.

This year the theme was “keepin’ it real.”  The list was trimmed to manageable gifts for folks.

 

First up,  my BIL Josh’s stocking.  Two years ago my nephew Lucca (his first Christmas) received his. Last year Ali got hers.  Ali and Josh are expecting #2 this summer so I’ll be knitting another stocking for a baby’s first Christmas. How exciting!

Pattern:  Cascade 220 Christmas Stocking (Freebie on their website)

Needle:  #9 – 16″ circ.

Yarn: Various Cascade 220’s and  Mission Falls Worsted Weight

Lined in cotton calico.

The family line up with a fourth to be added next winter.

Ali requested a neck warmer for Lucca.  This blue makes his little (mischievous)  blue eyes sparkle.

Pattern:  Boys Neckwarmer by AnitaDesign

Needle: #6 – 16″ circular to DPNs of same size

Yarn: Cascade 220 paints superwash

Mods:  Shortened it up a bit and CO 140 stitches to make it smaller. The pattern is for an 8-10 year old. Lucca is 2 1/2.

Modeled by my sister’s child-sized dress form “Thing 1.”  Or is it “Thing 2?”  Rachel has an Etsy shop called Sweet Pea and Company.  She designs and makes vintage inspired baby and toddler clothing.  Check out her shop.  I’m not just biased.  Her designs are a little bit sweet, funky, vintage, and make great gifts.

This was easy to make.  I didn’t bind it off until I tried it on him.  It fit!

 

 

Papa Frank  got a hat.  He’s wearing it on a hike in the photo below.

Pattern:  Botanic Hat by Stephen West

Needle:  #6  (should have ribbed on a #5)

Yarn:   Patons Classic Merino (lt gray) and Cascade 220 (Dark Gray)

The hat it reversible. I’ve made it before.  Will surely make it many times over.

The other side. Note how the slipped stitches form the sculptural columns.

Karen received a pair of fingerless mitts.

Pattern: Commuter Fingerless Mittens by Stephanie Sun

Needle:  Ribbing #3 and #4 for the hand

Yarn: Cascade 220 in Lake Chelan Heather (love this color)

Mods:  Many.  Knit two at a time on magic loop.  Knit to pattern they form a flap on the top which folds over your fingers and buttons to make a James Bond-worthy mitten.  I knit to pattern and they looked too short. Being short on time (har har) I ripped back and knit a plain ribbed top.  Here’s the funny part. She tried them on and they were too long!  She folds them over and it’s all good.  I forget not all have man hands, as I so, when I slip on mittens to be gifted.

 

Mom picked out these Peaches N’Cream dishcloth cotton my last trip in October.  I knit up these cloths on #6 needles. They will travel with her to their FL home.

Patterns from top to bottom:

Can’t find pattern for the cream colored one on top.

Chinese Waves by Margaret K. Radcliffe (My Favorite)

Old Trusty AKA Grandmother’s Favorite

Feather and Fan by Linda Smith

And Rachel received her belated (ahem…November) birthday gift. She also picked out a couple balls of dishcloth cotton in October.  I gifted them tied up with yummy Verbena soap.

 

 

Can’t find pattern for this one:

 

Chinese Waves by Margaret K. Radcliffe

Doily Style Dishcloth from Lily Sugar n’Cream

 

Now that I’m done with Christmas I can get to some of my knitting goals for the year.  I joined a dishcloth swap on Ravelry and will mail a little [ackage to my partner in a week.  The body of my ACER sweater is done. Tonight I’ll start the sleeves.  Going to attempt knitting from the shoulder down.  Scary…

Leave a Reply

