The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Multnomah! A Souvenir shawl.

Leave a comment

AK drifts into my thoughts all the time.  Knitting this shawl sent me back to Sitka, my favorite stop in SE AK.  This yarn came from a little shop called (I think) Knitting with Class.  The colors are rich and jewel-toned just like the rain soaked Sitka I visited.  Not a pastel kind of gal I’m drawn to pure, saturated color.

The yarn is called Taiyo Sock, a single ply fingering version of Noro’s  worsted weight Taiyo. It’s composed of:

50% Cotton
17% Wool
17% Nylon
16% Silk
Having a thick and thin nature like other Noro single ply yarns (think Kureyon or Silk Garden) it has a matte, dry hand.  I’d never knit socks from it,  doubting it would hold up. Use caution of you’re a tight knitter.
Pattern:  Multnomah by Kate Ray, AKA helloknitty
Needle:  #5 Addi Turbo 40″
Yarn: Noro Taiyo Sock in color 5. Yardage used: 374
Wingspan: 58″
Depth (Point to Neck): 16″
Knit 8 repeats
Loved it. I’ll surely make more.
The pattern’s easy peasy but I messed up a feather and fan repeat and had to frog back a whole repeat (a thousand stitches?)  Paul, the Patron Saint of Intricate Knitting (wait till you see the photo I’ll soon blog of his embroidery floss weight lace bed spread he’s knitting) taught me to place a lifeline using a 40″ circular (used a #2 Addi Lace for its sharp point.)  Then, carefully, I frogged back to those stitches.  This yarn sticks to itself and I frogged SLOWLY!
Once corrected, the repeats flew by. It’s great  purse (and backpack and beach bag) knitting.
Spotted this sign in Portland. Had to include it!

Leave a Reply

