The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Alaska Continues – A Watery World – Sitka Part Two

Leave a comment

This Post takes you through downtown Sitka.

Much of my time I spent perusing the shore, looking at harbors and boats, just enjoying the smells and sounds around me.

Coastal AK’s water is an umbillical cord of sorts for supplies and livelihood.  Boats and planes seemed to outnumber people.  (Probably not but it sure seems like it.)

This post focuses on waterfront sights as well as Sitka National Historic Park and its Totem Poles.

The harbors have a mix of fishing and recreation boats.  I’ve since learned it’s good luck to have  a boat with two names.

Gray sky and water made the bright colors vivid.

Large(r) commercial fishing boats:

The rusty, crusty ones I find interesting.  Some seem to have add-ons and modifications, reminding me of quirky mountain homes. I see some knitting project color inspiration in this one:

There are  trawlers, long liners, trollers and gillnetters. I remember a neat sign showing each type of boat and how to ID it by its set-up.

Float planes are everywhere.  The sound of them taking off and landing I found comforting.  A return trip including a flight is on my bucket list.

There were tugs pushing barges:

At the south end of town sits Sitka National Historic Park.  A beautiful visitor center houses artifacts such as Chilkat weavings, original Totem Poles and Russian Orthodox icons.  There’s also a superb film.  On the grounds a loop walk through the trees takes one past numerous Totems.  Many are replicas of originals brought here in the early 1900’s.

Here, in 1804, the Tlingits and Russians fought a bloody battle which, I believe, the Tlingits lost only after running out of ammunition.  A clearing in the park denotes the place the Kiks.adi Fort stood.

In a shed one was being restored:

Some peeked through emerald-green trees:

Inlaid metal:

This park’s walk is peaceful and serene.  Detritus, damp and scented lay under coastal, temperate rain forest trees.  A spiritual and quiet place I’d like to return.  How I’d love to revisit Sitka.  But I had a ferry to catch the next day with the next port being Ketchikan.

Leave a Reply

