The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Daily Musings and Stash Diving

Leave a comment

Slow down!  Simplify, savor, prioritize, preserve sanity.  These words pervade my thoughts, lately.

I returned from my two-week PNW foray feeling fresh and relaxed. Then I went work and , scapula laced together, my shoulders obscured my ears and my neck throbbed with pain.  How do I relax?

Two week road trips aren’t in the cards on a routine basis.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot, lately.

Here’s a couple of strategies I’m trying out:

  • Bike and walk more often for basic needs.  Library/groceries/farmers market/hiking trails/numerous eateries/work are all within a 2-3 mile bike ride.  I figure ditching the car will keep me closer to home and simplify errand days.
  • Go to bed by 10 on work nights.  Maybe I’ll read for 15-30 minutes.  The norm is to stumble into work at 0700, coffee in hand, breakfast scarfed en route.  Really…I can do better than that.
  • Switch to a 90 minute per month massage from a 60.  My cherished massage therapist Adam moved.  I felt the world spinning.  I’ve since found Nancy after a few others that just didn’t fit.   She’s the bomb!
  • Drink two Nalgene bottles worth of water at work per day.  Sounds silly but going 12+ hours on coffee and a token cup of water is just not OK.
  • Adhere to a 15 minute routine per day, no matter how tired I am, devoted to stretching my rubber band muscles and troublesome knee/lower back issues.  This will do wonders.  I’ve been too lazy in this department.

And the biggie, revisit the goal to KNIT EVERY DAY!  I’m at about a 50/50 state.

Send me some virtual support, Peoples. I could use it.  Any tips?

_____________________________________

Today I stash dove and planned out Christmas gifts (getting closer, fellow knitters!), projects needing completion and a few I’d like to start.  Fighting the urge to madly cast on three new projects I completed one gauge swatch and blocked a birthday gift.  But that turned out really wonky and will require a bit of ripping and re-doing.  “It’ll block out” just didn’t happen.  Why am I not surprised?

 

Here’s the array I played with:

 

 

It’s a big pile. Much sits next to me in the living room right now, dis-obeying the rule to corral future projects in an orderly fashion in the closet to prevent an overwhelming sense of chaos, detracting from the project at hand.

I am a fickle knitter.

Leave a Reply

