The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Let the Gift Knitting Begin!

Leave a comment

Last year I set a goal of making a Christmas gift every couple of months. Hmmm…didn’t quite stick to that one.

Christmas is coming quickly, folks, so a flourish of holiday gift knitting’s begun.  As usual, the list is long, I’m setting aside any personal projects (except for a 75% complete pair of socks and one hat) and whittling down the gift list.

ACER, remember her?  (RAVELRY LINK) For some reason I thought the size I knit would fit.  Was I wrong!   Took ACER to MN, tried it on family members and it fits my sis Karen beautifully.   I’ll gift her this sweater for Christmas.

Started the sleeves last night using Wendy Bernard’s top down set in sleeve instructions in her book Custom Knits.  LOVE it!  Pictured below is the ACER with a cute little sleeve cap.    After the shaped cap’s knitted you knit the rest of the sleeve down in a circular fasion, using math (shudder) to calculate the frequency of decreases to the cuff.  I’ll leave the cuff not bound off so I can tweak the length, if necessary, once I have Karen to try it back on.

“Malabrigo Hand Thingies”   were a birthday gift for my friend Anise.  (RAVELRY LINK to my Project Page)  Knit in Silk Garden, in true Noro fashion each mitt is very different in color from the other, yet both from the same skein.

A Man-Hat for a man-friend,  Flintshire was a blast to knit.   (RAVELRY LINK to my Project Page).  Yarn’s Vintage by Madelinetosh in the color “Mare.”  The photo doesn’t show its complex play of cobalt, brown, navy and gray to the fullest.  Round and soft yet with enough structure to really show stitch definition, this yarn is a new favorite of mine.  It’s washable too!  I hear it wears well, doesn’t pill, and the colors are small-batch dyed deliciousness.  I see more, much more of it in my future.

And for my sister Rachel, a birthday gift of the Winterberry Mittens  (RAVELRY LINK to my Project Page)  and a matching Cambrian Cowl  (RAVELRY LINK to my Project Page) from the Coastal Knits book.  (Hello Rockycoast  Coast Cardigan, I hear you calling my name.)

Trying to finish the ACER before starting another gift.  Really trying!  It’s been unseasonably hot here. I think this is supressing my urges for personal sweater knitting so I can get the gifts done.

Are there any readers working on holiday gifts?

 

Leave a Reply

