The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

A Christmas Sweater For Karen

Leave a comment

 

Several projects I completed over my Christmas trip to MN.  Pics to come soon.

This sweater I started on the ferry ride up to AK in February of 2011.  Fitting issues put it on hold awhile.    Why did I think a  38″ bust would fit me?  Last July I brought it to MN and tried it on my sister Karen.  It fit her perfectly!  The sleeves I knit top down using short rows for shaping.  A new technique, I’ll use it again.  The cuffs I left on waste yarn, not bound off.  Once in MN, I slipped it on her. She promised she kept her eyes closed.  ;  )  After adding an inch in length I wrapped it up and placed it under the tree.

Karen loves it!  Makes me swell up with pride  to see her wear it with a smile.

 

Notes on the construction:

Public View Ravelry Project Page Link

Pattern:  Acer by Amy Christphers

Needle:  #5 ribbing and sleeves (oops) and #6 for the rest

Yarn:  Cascade 220 Heathers color number 9488

 

 

I might make it again for me.  Have to figure out bust shaping. Grrr…Just downloaded a couple of Amy Christopher’s patterns.  Her designs are timeless with a twist, interesting, patterns well written.  Check her out!

 

 

Leave a Reply

