The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Pacific Northwest Part 7 of ? – Victoria, BC! How do I become a Canadian?

Leave a comment

After my hike above treeline, I hopped on the Coho Ferry from Port Angeles, WA to Victoria, BC.


Crossing the Strait of Juan de Fuca  took maybe 1.5 hours. Water was like glass.

Will ferries ever cease to fascinate me?  I think not.

Approaching Victoria from the water reveals much.   A melange of Naval buildings and store-yards, turn of the century brick buildings,  contemporary structures and a picturesque waterfront lined in sidewalks, docks and boats beats arriving by air.

Houseboats in front of the large building:

A fantastically pedestrian-friendly town,  one could easily ferry over to Victoria, sans vehicle, and explore via foot/bus/bike.  Base-camped in a downtown hotel, I didn’t use my vehicle for two days.

A shopping district:

The water-front street being revitalized, I read:

Old next to new:

The stately Fairmont Empress Hotel. Its famous high tea I did not attend.

British Columbia’s Parliament building.  A thorough tour I took. Indoor pics were not so great.  That docent knew her stuff!

 

A necessary component of  full-city-exploration, a Local Yarn Shop visit, The Beehive Wool Shop:

Boy Howdy!  It’s a good ‘un.  Specifically sleuthing for Canadian yarns, I walked away with a couple.

Look at this pretty – Fleece Artist Trail Socks (merino and nylon, fingering wt.)

Meandered through Beacon Hill Park, a lovely city oasis:

Photogenic Great Blue Heron:

Two FULL days I spent walking about.  An after-dark walk past the harbor glittered and made me stop awhile just to gawk:

The British Columbia Parliament Building:

Victoria…I’d live there in a heartbeat.  From what I gleaned in just two days, people are VERY friendly.  It is Canada, after all.   Being a Midwesterner steeped in “MN nice” I pick up on and appreciate that.  Clean, green (not just in color), aesthetically pleasing, on water, by mountains, much about Victoria appeals to me.

Next post I’ll devote to Victoria’s Chinatown, worthy of its own.

Leave a Reply

