The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Windrush Farm – Fun at Mimi’s – A Celebration of Fleece

Leave a comment

Mimi Luebbermann represents her sheep farm, called Windrush Farm, at the San Rafael, CA farmers market during non-summer months.  A frequent shopper there (I try for at least once a week) I dutifully stop by her booth and squoosh my hands through her roving and yarns. Her cheerful conversation always perks up my day.

In May Mimi held an open house at her farm.

Getting there was just part of the fun. I took back roads that day  (Hicks Valley Road, Wilson Hill Road into Chileno Valley) on the outskirts of Petaluma, CA.

Never tire of it out here:

Mimi raises sheep, goats, chickens, cows, alpacas, llamas and more.  Lots of love’s poured into her craft and profession, I can tell, from meandering though the farm. She hosts farm camps for children, a fantastic idea.

Let’s start with the sheep. I’m a sucker for lambs. There were one so wee it looked like they’d arrived the day before.

 

After a shearing demonstration (remember this one I shared with you?), Mimi gave a demo using two fleeces, both very different (the breeds elude me.)

This one had an undercoat and was very curly with a long fiber. She talked about weight, processing, crimp and such.  Felt great to get my hands on it and smell the lanolin.

 

The center courtyard housed several tables of fiber goodies from local spinners/dyers.  Brick oven pizza scents filled the air. A woman sat spinning, sharing her craft with kids and adults alike.

 

Mimi’s beautiful yarns were there. Some are undyed and the color of the fleece. Others are dyed using plant dyes.  I picked up a delightfully soft, indigo-dyed blue skein for a sweater for my niece Lillian.  I’d love to someday invest in a whole Fisherman’s sweater’s worth.

 

 

 

Inside the barn she had spinning wheels for sale (haven’t gone there), ?carders?, and other goodies to peruse.

 

 

I peeked at her gardens and chickens on the way out.  Such a quiet, green, beautiful setting.  Kinda makes me wish for a little hamlet.  She must work very hard to keep up everything.

 

 

 

I enjoyed sharing in the celebration of all things woolly, with others, that day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

