The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Afghans For Afghans Sweater Number Two

Leave a comment

Here’s sweater number two.  This, along with the Lopi Sweater, I delivered to Afghans for Afghans headquarters on a volunteer work day.  I also carried over my friend Olivia’s three sweaters and numerous hats.  Imagine schlepping two bags full of sweaters and hats on the ferry and BART.  Smile inducing…

Sweater was quick using Ann Budd’s Top-Down pattern book. Having some Knit Picks Gloss Heavyweight (no longer made) I held it with a black, coned weaving wool Olivia kindly donated to the cause.  The yoke was knit up in a Fibonacci slip stitch pattern of doubled Cascade 220.  Finished chest is 32″.  I made the body and arms longer than called for.  Knitting flies by at 3 SPI on a 10.5 needle.   I enjoyed the yoke patterning and will surely use this pattern again.

See my Ravelry project page notes.

In the storage and packing area for Afghans for Afghans with Ardis, Sharon and I:

In go my two sweaters into a box.  I’ll admit, got a bit choked up at this.

Look at all those beautiful sweaters!  Seeing piles and piles of such beautiful handwork, some of the sweaters mailed in were of complicated Fair Isle patterns, gave me the warm-fuzzies.  Mounds of wooly-love! Seems we’ll hit the goal of 500 sweaters.

I’m hoping for another sweater campaign.

Leave a Reply

