The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Eldorado Canyon, CO With Ed

Leave a comment

‘Bout a month ago I spent a week in CO visiting a mighty fine gaggle of friends.  Leaving my home state of MN, at age 24, west I ventured to CO.  A rock climbing trip there fanned the flames of an interest in the outdoors and climbing.  Once steeped in CO, a fully ignited passion for mountains and wide-open vistas let loose.  Over the course of 12+ years I taught grade school, changed careers to nursing, and made some of the dearest friends to me.

Upon arrival, knowing just one person, I posted a note on the Neptune Mountaineering cork board looking for a climbing partner.  One can only boulder and solo the third Flatiron so many times.

Ed answered and we climbed. Boy did we climb!  I used to get out four+ times per week. A true friend I made. Though far apart in miles for many years, now, some bonds of friendship last.  I’m thankful for these connections in life.

Ed and I spent part of a day climbing in Eldorado Canyon, the park we frequented, visiting old favorites.

 

Seeking shade, we climbed on the Bastille formation.

Atop the Bastille:

We climbed two multi-pitch routes, Bastille Crack (5.8) and Werk Supp.  (5.9)  Werk Supp was the first lead climb I did in Eldo and I remember thinking, “I’m not in MN anymore!”  Ratings are not soft in Eldo.

Heading up:

The Bastille formation looms above south Boulder Creek.  The bridge below crosses to trails and oodles more climbing.  There’s a lifetime of climbing to be had. My photos show just a smidgen.

Ed re-racking gear up top.

Looking up the canyon, South Boulder Creek flowing past and Redgarden Wall to the right.  It’s huge, folks, scale’s hard to come by in photos.

 

Looking out the canyon towards the town of Eldorado Springs and the plains of Boulder.  The Flatirons bust out to the left at the ridge seen on the left back of the photos.

 

Still grin when I think of this day which I do frequently.  Climbing’s healing, being way up high, feeling the texture of the rock, moving, watching birds and hearing the creek roar below.  Not much climbing in my new locale.  I miss it and need to figure out a way to return this therapy, of sorts, to my life.

Working on it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

