The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Spring Walking – Today’s Amble Through Town

Leave a comment

Like a cat batting at a mouse, Mother Nature toys with us. Must’ve been over 50 today. A long walk through town I took under a clear, blue, sun-drenched sky.

IMG_1883

Weather report (and the friendly guy walking past me on the bike path with a small, rambunctious terrier) predict cold, windy,rainy weather moving in later this week.

One thing I’ve learned, being new to the PNW, is to run with these blue-bird days because they may not return for awhile.  This winter’s been abnormally warm and clear.

Today, I met a friend for a walk to the library. After catching up, we parted ways and I continued up to the Uptown portion of town to my favorite bakery (Pan D’Amore) for coffee and a cinnamon roll.

Signs of spring abound.

Ornamental rhododendrons are blooming, the wild ones are not.

 

IMG_1884

 

IMG_1886

 

I think this is a camellia:

 

IMG_1889

 

Cherry blossoms give a heady scent to the air. I’m a total sucker for them.

 

IMG_1892

 

Here you can see some on the hillside above the lagoon.  The plume in the center is the paper mill.  The Olympic Mountains line the horizon.

 

IMG_1891

 

The clock tower on the Jefferson County Courthouse is still the tallest structure visible on Port Townsend’s skyline.

 

 

IMG_1888

 

Such a beautiful building.  When I went in for my plates and registration there was NO one waiting.  Real people answer the phone.  Can you imagine?  I was floored.

IIMG_1890

 

Walked past one of the marinas on the way home.  My phone died.  I wasn’t able to snap pics of the boatyard and its smallest of sailboats to giant commercial fishing boats being repaired.

I also couldn’t photograph the blackbirds in the marsh, the busted up boat that’s entertained beach-playing kids for a year or the two eagles chattering and soaring above.  There’s a whole lot to take in during these walks.

I’ll continue to share my new backyard with you.  I’m rather fond of it.

IMG_1894

Leave a Reply

