The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

The Fledgling Garden

Leave a comment

 

 

A Tale of a Fledgling Garden

First, start with a good looking guy, with a passion for gardening, who loves to work hard preparing soil.

The rental property I’m at has a couple terraces, once gardened, that were begging for rejuvenation.

IMG_2020

 

Pete and I try our American Gothic pose:

 

IMG_2036

 

Stern looks aren’t my thing.  Couldn’t hold this for long.

IMG_2037

 

Peter being a skilled craftsman, a removable deer fence (which I call the “compound,”) was in the works.  You just can’t garden here without one.  Situated on a wooded ravine, this property is scenic and lush.  It also makes us stop number one on the deer-buffet circuit.  A beautiful arbor is now in place.

 

IMG_2022

In went some seeds;  peas, favas, some lettuce and kale.

IMG_2107

 

IMG_2105

Potatoes went in (not fenced, they are left alone.)

 

IMG_2031

I started some squash and pickling cucumber seeds indoors.  Can’t find the pic I took of the wee, sprouted plants.

IMG_2094

My usual patient self was getting antsy for signs of life.  The first potato plant reassured me we were on to something.

IMG_2103

Time lapsed, heres a peek at the garden a week or so ago.

The fence is up, we’ve added chives, dill, basil, peppers, onions, tomatoes (though they’re looking tough), various annuals (pansies, I’m a total sucker for them), nasturtiums, the cuke starts fed the slugs, pumpkin, herbs, bush beans, and more I’m forgetting.

I’ll snap some new pics for you all today.

 

IMG_2307

I haven’t enjoyed a garden of this sort in 20 years.  Getting out and tending it is so therapeutic.

Leave a Reply

