The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Christmas Knitting 2014 – I really do knit!

Leave a comment

The first of the year rolled over.  That triggers two basal instincts in me:

1) Christmas knitting is done and it’s time to knit for me.

2) Time to tidy up the RAVELRY projects page, add to my Knitmeter and get caught up on blog posts related to knitting.

#1 was celebrated by most of a day  spent in my new sewing and craft room, sitting on the floor, multiple tote boxes of yarn exploded around me.  Planning, bagging up projects, dreaming,  I was drowning in it and so happy! Pete, eyes bugged out upon glancing in, refrained from gasping. It was his first time seeing the stash unleashed from boxed constraints.   #2 is happening today.  A gnarly cold rudely barged in last night, making my throat and ears raw and canceling my plans for the day which were eagerly anticipated.  Boo.

Anyhoo, lot’s of projects to share.  Some were holiday gifts and some were gifts to moi.

The first was an Advent calendar Karen asked for early last year.  Using a hodge-podge of patterns from Ravelry I made 21 items, almost all are closed at the bottom to tuck a treat into. mini-clothes pins from Michaels secure them to cotton cording.  I liked this idea as they can rearrange the items as they like. The backing is made of felt.  I had that huge rick-rack in my trim box for ages. Glad to find the perfect use for it.  They love it!  Unfortunately, the dowel to hang it from didn’t fit in my suitcase.  Doh!

As an aside, Karen and Wes are expecting a little girl in June.  So excited for them!

IMG_3742 IMG_3684

A fork makes a fine tool for making mini pom-poms.

IMG_3670

WAY back when, must have been in 2007(?) I took a class at Knitty Cat, in Denver, CO, on knitting socks using the magic loop technique. That, I remember, was a mile marker in my knitting knowledge expansion.  Sock number one languished for 7 years.  Last summer I was working on it while visiting my family. I planned to put them in my Afghans for Afghans  donation pile.  Mom oohed and aahed and has been asking for socks for ages.  I decided to gift them to her this year. She loves them!

RAVELRY PROJECT PAGE LINK

IMG_3685

The yarn is by Mountain Colors, Weavers Wool Quarters in colorway Sierra. I just love the colors.

IMG_3688

Sis Ali requested warm hats.  I gifted her this cowl and hat.   On my RAVELRY PROJECT PAGE, this is called the Damn-Double Mobius because I managed to twist the cast-on twice. Seriously.  That double twist in the loop made it hang funny. I doctored it.

IMG_3692

Using my sewing machine, I sewed two lines of reinforcement stitches, then cut up like a steek, picked up stitches and made two button bands.  The yarn is ultra soft Frog Tree alpaca sport held double.  The hat was patternless, the yarn held double.

IMG_1900

I crocheted over the steeked edges to tidy them up.

IMG_1903

IMG_3693

Sis Rachel also got a hat and cowl set.  Pardon the low-light photos. This is WA in winter, folks.  This photo is unblocked and a mess.  The pattern is called Ells Cowl. I knit it in Rowan Felted Tweed Aran held double.  The stitch pattern was really fun and quick.  It looks crocheted, eh?  I also made a matching bulky weight beanie.

IMG_3699

That’s it for gifted knits.  I have some “me” projects I’ll post later.

I was thinking of giving up on knitting gifts this year.  Instead, I chose to finish a couple of projects and use quick, chunky projects. I’m glad I did!

 

Leave a Reply

