The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Meeee Knitting Projects!

Leave a comment

 

The Christmas crafting rush is over.  I’ve a few finished projects to share.

This following three items were my travel projects when we flew to MN for Christmas.

This cowl’s pattern is called “Daniel, A Diagonally Striped Cowl.” Instant gratification, I knit with a 10 1/2 needle using doubled Rowan Felted Tweed DK.  The tweedy, haloed, rustic nature of this yarn appeals to me as well as the color palette.  It begs for colorwork. Though I fantasize about a fair isle sweater (think Rowan models traipsing across a Scottish landscape with not a care in the world wrapped in colorful woolens) small accessories are more likely for me. Knitting less than 5 SPI makes me twitch.  Imagine a whole sweater’s worth?  Yikes! A hat?  Rowan sells Fine Tweed, put up in wee balls, that might be a good substitute.  For this project I used up most all three colors. I loop it twice. Next cowl I’ll make about 6″ shorter so it snugs on my neck better. I’ve been wearing this a lot.

 

IMG_4138 IMG_4139 IMG_4140

 

This hat is a go-to lately. Knit in Malabrigo Mecha, my new favorite bulky yarn, Betsy is by Jane Richmond.  Her line of patterns is so pretty, they all complement each other. This yarn gets better with wearing, it blooms a bit. Although superwash, it blocked nicely. Some superwash yarns, I’ve noted, stretch out of shape with blocking.  I knit this exactly as written.  I’d make the ribbing just a smidge longer next time.  This one will be a super gift knit.  Sis Karen approved of the pattern and color.

IMG_4136

 

Keeping on with speedy projects, my Blue-eanie (Chunkeanie by Wooly Wormhead) was knit in a few hours.  The yarn is Kama by Noro. It looks to be discontinued and hard to find. Little Knits has a good selection left.  I’ve resisted the urge to order a sweater’s worth.  I used just under a skein. It matches this cowl (which turned out way too long, the yarn stretched, I now loop it around and pull and end through like a keyhole) Slouchy, warm, colorful, this hat gets a lot of use as well.  Three skeins of a green colorway light up my stash and will likely become another hat and cowl set.

IMG_4134

 

Winter means cold floors. It’s time for another pair of felted slippers.  They are done and just need a trip through the washer. This pattern is a classic. I’ve made it many times.  The colors are off below. They are a jewel toned sapphire and turquoise color. I goofed and didn’t make the sole bumper turquoise.

IMG_4148

 

On the needles now is a Mina sweater in Noro Iro. Ravelry reminds me I started it in March of 2013. Geez!  Last night I undid the shoulder seam bind off and lengthened the body a few inches. One sleeve is done and waiting for a test seam to ensure the correct length.  The second sleeve is started. The collar may take some time.  Resisting the urge to start a Lopi sweater is taking much energy.  Keep focused, Heather!

Jane says “hi.”  She likes to knead the Iro as much as I love knitting with it.

IMG_3260

 

After Mina’s done, There’s a few accessories in my Rav queue as well as a couple sweaters on the list.  More on those later.

Happy knitting!

Leave a Reply

