The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Baby Shower Knit Set for Sis and BIL – A Finished Object

2 Comments

In April we celebrated my sister Karen and BIL Wes’s upcoming arrival of a little girl at a shower in MN.  For a gift, I chose to knit a sweater and bonnet I’ve knit before for another special little girl.

DSCF5156

I rarely re-knit patterns. This one, Knit Lace and Leaves by Jeannine LaRoche and printed by Leisure Arts is timeless. Squishy garter stitch defines a yoke of leaves that fan out and frame a wee-one’s face. Plus, the hat or bonnet use that leaf motif in really cute ways that spread over the top of the head or cup the back of the head.  It’s very clever.

Back in 2012 I knit a set for my friends Matt and Agie and their little one Elsa.

This time around, I sent Karen a pic of several colors and she chose a deep, punchy magenta.  The yarn is cascade 220 superwash.

The leaves are so pretty!

DSCF5158

For project details, see my Ravelry project page.

Like last time, I modified the pattern to knit the sleeves in the round, not flat.  Really. Flat?  Seamed? I simply knit the yoke, placed the sleeve stitches on holders, cast on a few stitches and knit the rest of the body.  I also made braided cords for teh bonnet.

My gauge was off, just like last time, I sure hope it fits this winter.

I chose to leave it short sleeved, as I have with other baby sweaters, for versatility.

Karen and Wes loved it. I can’t wait to see the little one wearing it!

IMG_5556

2 thoughts on “Baby Shower Knit Set for Sis and BIL – A Finished Object

  1. Is it possible to get the pattern from you?

Leave a Reply

