The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Fall Knitting Finished Projects

2 Comments

Hey Y’all-

Thought I’d catch up on posting FO’s from the last few months.

I’ve been knitting a lot.  Just finished a Christmas gift and half of another. Sharing those, of course, must wait.  Also pending are Halloween photos of my niece in her Babe the Blue Ox hat I knit up.  This weekend I’m finishing up a bunch of charity knitting. I’ll mail it off to the same organization I send the quilts. If you use Ravelry you can access they group’s page at: Hats and More for War-Torn Syria.

First, the cutest project given its model, the Bonny Tee I made my niece Sonja. The colorway of Tosh DK, Happiness, is the same blue as her eyes.

IMG_6396

Glad it fits. I hope it fits through the winter. Geez she’s cute!

IMG_6833-4

Next up is a B-Day gift for my sis Rachel.  The pattern is November Leaves in BT Shelter in Button Jar. This photo does not show the rich, flecked green color well.

DSCF5991

I did not aggressively block open the lace leaves. I didn’t want the size growing any larger.

DSCF5992

This hat I cast on while taking the Keystone Ferry enroute to my Mt. Baker trip. Based on the iconic  Turn a Square, which has 17,089 projects made in the Ravelry database, I’ve made this hat at least a half-dozen times. This one’s from a skein of Noro Silk Garden.

DSCF5994

I did not make this shawl. It was a gift from a dear, sweet friend.  It’s so beautiful! I just had to share it with you.  She used the Northmavine Hap pattern by Kate Davies in delightfully light, wooly yarns in the colors of a moody, winter WA coast.  It’s now cold enough to wrap this around me. This is the first knitted gift I’ve received from anyone and so treasured.

DSCF5986 DSCF5987

Made sometime ago, this Find a Penny Shawl (my third) I managed to lose in my sewing and craft room. Finally unearthed, it’s warmed my neck in the last week.  The yarn is Tosh Merino in Tart. Soft…yummy…this pattern is so functional and wearable.  It wraps around twice and knots for a secure neck warmer or drapes if wrapped more loosely.  It’s a quick knit.

DSCF5989

Dainty Dorris satisfied a desire for a more loose, lightweight hat.  It’s too slouchy for my liking. I will undo the top and frog back a couple inches.  It’s knit in Tosh DK in Robin Red Breast (I think.)

DSCF5990

I introduced Wee Sonja to the wonders of wool on my August trip to MN.  I know that look. I think she’s hooked!

IMG_6431

Sis Karen admired my Betsy last winter so I made one for her B-Day in Malabrigo Mecha as well. The color is London sky.  How I love this pattern.

DSCF5763

It accompanied me, up above the trees, while hiking by Mt. Baker.  DSCF5717

Cozy Thermal Mitts were intended for my sis Rachel’s birthday gift. But they are big. Too big even for my paws despite using a needle #4.  I may try felting them up a bit. The yarn is BT Shelter in Hayloft. This color I am drawn to. Unfortunately, I can’t wear yellow by my face.   When I make these again, I will remove some repeats.

DSCF5766

This hast is the Station Hat.  Not sure who it will go to. It’s in the future gift pile. I knit it up in Malabrigo Worsted which is what MAL knit the patern card up in.  I love how you turn it and knit in stockinette then reverse it for a reverse stockinette surface.  I modified it by casting on fewer stitches than called for. As a result, I had to recalculate decreases.  To fit my pinhead, I cannot cast on more than 90 stitches in worsted weight. And that’s pushing it. I usually go for 86-88.

DSCF5765

Sis Ali’s B-Day gift was the Lowbrow hat in a colorway of Malabrigo Worsted (Bobby Blue) I set aside for her years ago.  The pattern has a matching cowl.  DSCF5761 DSCF5762

Cool weather’s amped up my instincts to craft, cook and hunker down.  This winter I have some lofty goals for knitting. More on that later.

DSCF5768

2 thoughts on “Fall Knitting Finished Projects

  1. Loved all your projects!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Ooh, thanks for sharing, may knit the Find a penny shawl, great as a gift knit.

Leave a Reply

