The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

The Egg and I Fuschias – An Annual Pilgrimage

Leave a comment

My friend Stephanie and her husband Doyle have a delightful farm, Egg and I Gardens,  in Chimacum, WA on  Egg and I Road between Beaver and Center Valley.  This road’s named after the book author Betty MadDonald penned.  A piece of local history, I just picked up a copy of the namesake book and dove in.

Published in 1945, the book is a humorous memoir about Betty’s adventuresome travels and about being a a newlywed wife on a chicken farm here in Chimacum.

Pete and I made our annual pilgrimage to Stephanie and Doyle’s to select a hanging fuschia basket from their greenhouse. They specialize in fuchsias.

Things are just starting to bloom in there. Last year I went a bit later into May and there were more lush blooms to coo over.  Regardless,  it was beautiful in there, and Stephanie predicts they will sell out in a couple weeks.

Look at these beauties:

IMG_0220

IMG_0229

 

IMG_0221

Fuchsias are a new-found love. My grandma always had a Mothers Day gift basket on her clothesline pole. The masses of dripping, bright pink flowers mesmerized me.  Here in WA, hardy varieties grow as shrubs. Less hardy ones can be brought into a garage or greenhouse for the winter.

IMG_0217

Hanging baskets of single and multiple varieties are just starting to pop.

 

Starts, very well priced, come in small and larger pots.

Handy photo cards, with the hardiness rating, make selection easier. They’re all so beautiful! I have a hard time choosing.
  

We brought home a basket full of promise  containing two varieties of fuchsia and a purple, trailing annual.  I forget it’s name.

IMG_0228

Last year’s hanging basket I named Lena, after its namesake flower.  Here she is one month after purchased:

DSCF5506

Lena made it through the winter in the garage but I forgot to pinch its new sprouts to keep them from being impossibly leggy and frail. Oops.  Lesson learned.  I picked up more lena starts and planted a new pot.

The farm is a beautiful spot, promoting dreams of animal husbandry and gardening.

IMG_0224

They sell Tamworth pork which we loaded up on.   We took a stroll to visit the pigs.

IMG_0226

A-dorable.

IMG_0225

Tamworth are a rare, old world breed known to be good moms, friendly, and flavorful.  I can vouch for the flavor part.  These guys are fed non-GMO grains sourced from a farm 22 miles away, whey, sprouted barley, hay, garden scraps and forage.  They are pampered. No mass farming with cruel conditions.

Clover and Buttercup, the donkeys, said hi as we fed them some sprouted grain:

IMG_0223

It’s always good to stop in. I recommend a visit if you are in the area or visiting.

 

Leave a Reply

