The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

Jefferson County Fair-Flowers, Stuff in Jars and Textiles

Leave a comment

Plates and plates of fruits and veggies and vases of flowers filled a building.  Maybe someday  I’ll be an exhibitor? I think it’s a pretty neat concept, the judging of produce and such.

Prize apples:

DSCF5816

Just one of several stands of  in jars. Note the lighting used? It made glowing gems of the jars.

DSCF5871

And it wouldn’t be a fair be such without the largest zucchini contest? I forget the weights. They were huge!

DSCF5825

Punchy dahlias.

DSCF5822

The textiles building I saved for last. I was impresed by the variety of quilts. Some were traditional.

DSCF5861

Some not. Here, detail of a very contemporary piece by a local gal I’ve had the pleasure of meeting.

DSCF5863

Note the combination of hand and machine quilting.

DSCF5865

Woven items:

DSCF5869

Handspun/dyed:

DSCF5868

Knit and crocheted items. I enjoyed the variety of items exhibited from simple potholders to fine, lace shawls.

DSCF5872

I haven’t entered an item in a county fair since high school. Maybe it’s time I revisit that notion for next year?

 

Leave a Reply

