The Knitting Nurse

Rambles and Travels

August garden glimpses-The front yard.

6 Comments

Take a gander at our summer garden. Flowers are in full bloom. We are drowning in zucchini, lettuce, and happily munching broccoli and green onions.  There is promise of a bumper crop of raspberries and the second crop of strawberries are forming.  This spring, we dug up a huge portion of our yard and gleefully plugged in colorful perennials.

This year’s front window box is probably my all-time favorite.


Fuchsias love this shady spot and I’ve taken keen advantage of that in box and the foundation plantings.


Along the side of the house:

Cages still guard the fruit trees. I thought peach trees were ignored by deer. I was wrong. Nasty little buggers have been grazing on the leaves that line the sidewalk. The cages need to come off the apple trees for growth’s sake but I’m worried that they’ll be devoured. Anyone have any tips?

The Gravenstein apple tree survived a bout of bugs last year and has good looking fruit on it.


I have some favorite flower specimens including a new Dalia the size of a dinner plate.

Beebalm


Climbing nasturtiums stretch with our families heirloom ‘tall yellow flowers’ in the background. We’re not sure what kind of flower they are. The original clump came from a great grandparents farm and has been divided and shared amongst my family.  I lugged mine home in a suitcase – it’s thriving!

Succulents – I’ve been tucking them into nooks and crannies in the front yard in a spot that takes a lot of hot, direct afternoon sun. They’ve spread like mad this year. The neighbor’s cat Butterscotch gets a cheek scritch from a hen that guards her chicks. He’s since moved. I miss his antics.

Dwarf sunflowers. These have me giggling with glee.


The next field trip I will take you into the backyard.

6 thoughts on “August garden glimpses-The front yard.

  1. I am so jealous of your beautiful garden! Someday…

Leave a Reply

